Troy Speech Teams win big at State speech competition

The Troy Speech Team recently garnered several Judges’ Choice awards and First Place awards at the recent IESA State Speech Competition, State Area 2, held at DeKalb. The students participating attend Troy Middle School and William B. Orenic Intermediate School.

"We have tremendous talent at Troy,” Coach Shari Pagel said, “and there were many impressive performances. It was an outstanding day for us at contest.”

The following Troy Middle School students earned the high honor of a Judges’ Choice Award: Kennedy Dorris for Poetry, Etta Sklar and Sara Spreitzer for Regular Duet Acting, Sofie Young for Solo Acting, Amy Gusewelle and Kendall Rusch for Regular Duet Acting, Faith Taques for Original Script-Individual and for Solo Acting, Christyn Johnson and Alexa Latham for Regular Duet Acting and Madison Aharrah for Solo Acting.

William B. Orenic student Karis Posteluk received a Judges’ Choice Award in the category of solo acting.

Troy Middle School students who earned 1st place awards at the state competition were Josie Newby, Tiffany Trizna, Sofie Young, Madison Aharrah, Sara Spreitzer, Kennedi MacDowell, Etta Sklar, Jimena Nava, Miles Lane, Sela Viamonte, Cara Lewandowski, Alexis Hartman, Sophia Taylor, Mackenzie Cassara, Kelby Monk, Kennedy Dorris, Faith Taques, Mason Schlegel, Amy Gusewelle, Faith Taques, Sydney Holmes, Aracelli Sotelo, Kendall Rusch, Giovanna Torres, Sofia Petrilla, Taylor Craven, Alexa Lathamn, Christyn Johnson, Zoie Jarrett, Caitlyn Murdock-Schey and Emma Motley.

William B. Orenic Intermediate School Speech Team members who placed 1st at state were Palmer Calvey, Arianna Fioritto, Isabella Nelson, Jade Newby and Karis Posteluk.

Troy Middle School Speech Team coaches are Shari Pagel, Tammie Herrejon and Jenn Silverman. Troy’s William B. Orenic Intermediate School Speech Team coach is Sarah Cooper.

Other district competitors in the state competition were from schools in Morris (Shabbona, Saratoga, Nettle Creek and ICS), Channahon, Crest Hill, Millbrook, Minooka, Newark, DeKalb and Glen Ellyn.

Photo attached: Several Troy Middle School Speech Team members received Judges’ Choice awards at the recent IESA State Speech Competition. They are, top from left, Kendall Rusch, Faith Taques, Kennedy Dorris, Sara Spreitzer, Madison Aharrah, Amy Gusewelle, Etta Sklar and Sofie Young. Front from left: Christyn Johnson and Alexa Latham. Not pictured: William B. Orenic Intermediate School Judges’ Choice winner Karis Posteluk.